Return to the mothership.

111: Back To The (Studies For My) Future.

In Season 1 on March 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm

University. Can’t live with it. Can’t get a job without it, according to John Howard. The usual new semesters resolutions have been made and broken. I will do all my reading this year. I will revise my lecture notes each week. And I will catch the bus to save money. Three weeks in, the only thing I’ve read are status updates on facebook, it looks like I’ll be cramming for exams again this year and have already been on the emotional rollercoaster of trying to find a park at 10 o’clock in the morning.

Since returning I have rediscovered the joys of coffee. It’s cheap, delicious and I get to catch up with people again. Come to think of it, I can’t remember why I stopped drinking it in the first place. Good thing I had all night to think of why.

I remember when it was easy to find a seat in lectures because the only people who turned up early were Asian students and mature aged students. Since changing to business, I have discovered that about 95% of my course was either an Asian student or a mature aged student, in the five minutes I walked up and down the isles looking for a seat.

In other news the biol library is now open 24/7. There are a growing number of places now open around the clock. Petrol stations and convenience stores were the first. Then both McDonalds and gyms started around the same time, which I find slightly ironic. Now I can put the weight on, and work it off, at 3:30 in the morning. But I digress. The way the library is used has changed a bit since being open 24/7. It has now moved from the library locations website to the accommodation website, with some students choosing to spend the night. Group rooms are available overnight, with checkout at 10am. And the demand for the breakfast menu has risen 400% at the cafe downstairs. But it’s nice to know some things haven’t changed, like the “need” to look up breakdancing babies on youtube before you actually use the library computers for anything constructive.

One thing I’ve learnt this year is that business classes love acronyms. For example, SMART, Specific Measurable Achievable Realistic Timely. Another thing I’ve learnt is that they always spell very inspiring words. You’d never see an acronym like DEAD, Direction Energy Attitude Determination, or FAIL, Focus Accuracy Intuition Learning. Personally I don’t think acronyms are effective. They’re just collections of vague words that happen to spell an inspirational word, which is loosely related to a concept that is too long and wordy to remember the whole thing. Perhaps I’m just jaded because when asked the question, how should business set objectives from their mission statements, all I can come up with was the word SMART, precisely what I did not feel like at that point in time.

I think I have wasted a sufficient amount of your time, and I really should get Back To The (Studies For My) Future. Lamest popculture reference to date. If you need me, I’ll be playing the new pokemon game, while pretending to study in my 1982 DeLorean. Should you be looking to procrastinate for a couple of minutes longer, read the accompanying webcomic below.

Leave a Reply

